On the Greenline

This place to walk, run and bike has made exercising less of a chore and more of a joy!

I think the biggest reason I have been exercising consistently is this wonderful place called the Shelby Farms Greenline www.shelbyfarmsgreenline.org. A little over a year ago this old railway got turned into a very lovely paved path that cuts right through my East Memphis neighborhood, heading from Midtown Memphis to the beautiful Shelby Farms Park www.shelbyfarmspark.org. I can get on it about 2 short block from my house and it is my very very favorite place to walk, run and bike. My family loves it too-my kids bike, roller-blade and scooter down it happily. I love it in the spring-there is so much greenery on either side of the path. In the summer, it is well shaded and much cooler than the rest of town. In the fall it is a great place to view the changing canopy. There is wildlife-I have seen a snake on the path and the other day a huge redhawk sat perched on a branch over the path. I was so close to him I could see his white chest feathers moving with the breeze and see his talons gripping the branch. And now, in winter, it is so peaceful. The trees and shrubs are bare and stark and beautiful. I love it so much it has made moving this big old heavy body much less of a chore and more of a joy…

Leave a comment